Colorado State University

Faculty Awards and Recognition

The College is proud to recognize our faculty who have acheived the distinctions of:Photo of Professor Laureate awards

The title of University Distinguished Professor is conferred upon the most outstanding faculty members of Colorado State University for the duration of their association with the institution. A maximum of 13 active faculty members at the University may hold the rank of University Distinguished Professor, which is a permanent designation that carries into retirement. To obtain the rank, faculty members are nominated through an extensive review process and must be approved by the current University Distinguished Professors. Upon retirement, those holding the title will be designated Distinguished Professor Emeritus.

Up to twelve members of the faculty at Colorado State University are give the title of University Distinguished Teaching Scholar. Scholars are chosen in an open process that begins with the selection of nominees by departments throughout campus. The title is held for the duration of their affiliation with the University.

The Inaugural University Interdisciplinary Research Scholar designation rewards professors who have obtained national and international prominence for their efforts to conduct research across disciplines. The Interdisciplinary Research Scholar program joins several other prominent programs that honor some of the top faculty at Colorado State including University Distinguished Professors and University Distinguished Teaching Scholars.

Professor Laureate is the highest academic title awarded by the College of Natural Sciences and is intended to honor faculty who have made outstanding contributions to its mission with work in the areas of research, teaching, mentoring, and outreach.

The College also recognizes faculty in several categories each year for being outstanding teachers and educators in their disciplines through the Teaching & Mentoring Awards.