Colorado State University

The College of Natural Sciences Emeritus Faculty Breakfast 2017

On March 30, the College of Natural Sciences held the 10th annual Emeritus Faculty Breakfast at the Lory Student Center. This event is put on each year to honor the contributions of college’s emeriti, to bring together past and current faculty, and to provide an update on all of the exciting news from the college.

See photos from the event.

Dean Jan Nerger opened up the morning with the introduction of each department chair and a star faculty member from the department who shared information on their innovative research.

During the breakfast, remarks continued with a welcome to the new emeriti and retired staff members, including prof
essors Roger Culver, Stephen Lundeen, Stephen Stack, and Senior Research Scientist Barbara Bernstein, as well as the Director of the College Georgeann Venis.

In the past year, the college has received funding for new scholarships honoring or established by emeritus faculty. These include the Rodney K. Skogerboe Scholarship, Jerry Deffenbacher Bridge to CSU Baccalaureate Scholarship, and the Jerry Deffenbacher Research Scholarship. A future gift has also been established by Addie Kano, the Kano-Kiewit Scholarship in Biochemistry Endowment.

A moment of remembrance was held for Adele Howe (computer science), Philip Kearney (physics), and Clarence Warren (chemistry), all of whom will be missed and had major impacts on shaping the College of Natural Sciences.

Dean Nerger also highlighted the many ways in which the college has continued to grow in its expansion of faculty and student enrollment, research, and community outreach. Along with the expansion of community outreach programs, the college is also gearing up for the opening of the new Chemistry Research and Biology buildings. The grand opening celebration will be held on Thursday, October 12, during Homecoming and Family Weekend.

The program concluded with an annual photo to remember another year of discovery and to celebrate the CNS community.